Skip to content
Curtin University
Research
Centre for Research in Applied Economics (CRAE)

People

The CRAE structure features a set of theme areas and, aligned with each of these, key researchers. The theme areas align with the major Journal of Economic Literature (JEL) codes and with the research expertise of our members. Within this structure, the key researchers play a number of important roles. They are the Centre Director’s first point of contact for the dissemination of relevant information on grant, scholarship and publishing opportunities to other CRAE members who work in their research area. They also collaborate with the CRAE secretariat to achieve publications, competitive grants, public forums and partnerships with international scholars in their field. The secretariat works with these researchers, in the first instance at least, to maximize the collection, recording and dissemination of relevant publication and other data relevant to each theme area.

Secreteriat

Director


Associate Professor Felix Chan
School of Economics and Finance

+61 8 9266 7760
Felix.Chan@cbs.curtin.edu.au

Research Administration

Mr Muammer Wali
School of Economics and Finance

+61 8 9266 1203
Muammer.Reza@cbs.curtin.edu.au  

Key Researchers

Methodology and History of Economic Thought (JEL classification B)

Emertius Professor Harry Bloch
John Curtin Distinguished Professor
School of Economics and Finance

+61 8 9266 2035
H.Bloch@cbs.curtin.edu.au

Associate Professor Therese Jefferson
School of Economics and Finance

+61 8 9266 3724
Therese.Jefferson@gsb.curtin.edu.au

Mathematical and Quantitative Methods (JEL classification C)

Associate Professor Felix Chan
School of Economics and Finance

+61 8 9266 7760
Felix.Chan@cbs.curtin.edu.au

International Economics (JEL classification F)

Professor Helen Cabalu-Mendoza
Head of School
School of Economics and Finance

+61 8 9266 3241
H.Cabalu@curtin.edu.au

Financial Economics (JEL classification G)

Professor Robert Durand
School of Economics and Finance

+61 8 9266 9971
Robert.Durand@curtin.edu.au

Public Economics (JEL classification H)

Professor Jeff Petchey
School of Economics and Finance

+61 8 9266 7408
J.Petchey@curtin.edu.au

Health, Education, and Welfare (JEL classification I)

Professor Mark Harris
School of Economics and Finance

+61 8 9266 9692
Mark.Harris@curtin.edu.au

Labour and Demographic Economics (JEL classification J)

Associate Professor Michael Dockery
School of Economics and Finance

+61 8 9266 3468
Mike.Dockery@cbs.curtin.edu.au

Economic Development, Technological Change, and Growth (JEL classification O)

Professor Ruhul Salim
School of Economics and Finance

+61 8 9266 4577
Ruhul.Salim@cbs.curtin.edu.au

Urban, Rural, and Regional Economics (JEL classification R)

Associate Professor Steven Rowley
School of Economics and Finance

+61 8 9266 7721
Steven.Rowley@cbs.curtin.edu.au

Associate Professor Rachel Ong Viforj
Bankwest Curtin Economics Centre

+61 8 9266 5710
Rachel.Ong@cbs.curtin.edu.au

Adjunct Professor

Mr Paul Bloxham
School of Economics and Finance

Paul.Bloxham@curtin.edu.au

 To find out about some of the HDR students supervised by CRAE Key researchers, please go to HDR Students