Skip to content
Curtin University
EDUsummIT 2015

TWG8: Digital citizenship and cyberwellness

Group leaders       

Paul Resta

Marsali Hancock Dr Resta holds the Ruth Knight Millikan Centennial Professorship in Learning Technology. His current work focuses on ICTs in teacher education and research on Web-based collaborative learning environments and virtual worlds. He currently serves as President of the International Jury for the United Nations Education, Scientific and Cultural Organization (UNESCO) King Hamad Bin Isa Al Khalifa Prize for ICT in Education. He also serves as Chair of the Association of Teacher Educators National Commission on Technology and the Future of Teacher Education. Dr Resta is the Founding President of The International Society for Technology in Education, and also served as President of the International Council for Computers in Education. He recently received the Canterbury Fellowship from the University of Canterbury in New Zealand and an honorary doctorate of letters from Moscow State University for Economics, Statistics and Informatics for global leadership in educational technology. He is also the recipient of numerous other awards including the Society of Information Technology in Teacher Education Life-Time Achievement Award, the U.S. Distance Learning Association Award for Outstanding Teaching in Higher Education, the U.S. Department of Education National Institute of Education Outstanding Leadership Award and the University of Texas Distinguished Faculty award.

Mike Searson

Michael Searson is executive director of the School for Global Education & Innovation at Kean University. This new school works within the intersection among global education, learning technologies and world languages. He is also president of the Society of Information Technology & Teacher Education (SITE). Searson has authored or co-authored about $8 million in state and federal grants, including the StarTalk program, designed to introduce college students to Hindi and Indian culture, and one of the first college-led 1-1 laptop programs in an urban middle school. Much of his recent work has focused on international initiatives, and he has worked with educators from Angola, Australia, Cambodia, China, India, Pakistan, Rwanda, and the UK, among other countries. He has served on the Global Learn Asia Pacific Executive Committee and has delivered a number of keynote addresses at global conferences.

Marsali Hancock

Marsali HancockMarsali Hancock is the founding president of, an international network of more than 100 policy leaders, educators, law enforcement workers, technology experts and advocates that help track internet-connected devices’ effects on children. Ms. Hancock has directed initiatives with the Department of Justice, Deparment of Education, the International Multilateral Partnership Against Cyber Threats (IMPACT), EduSummit, National Telecommunications and Information Administration (NTIA), UN’s International Telecommunication Union (ITU) Child Online Protection Group (COP) and others. She has developed content and initiatives in multiple states across the county, served on many industry consumer advisory boards and participated with online safety committees for industry leaders.

Group members          

  • Jongwon Seo
  • Cristiana Mattos de Assumpcao
  • Anthony Jones
  • Vaibhav Jadhav
  • Leela Pradhan
  • Ethel Valenzuela
  • Coreen Frias
  • Padoong Homepirom
  • Azra Naseem
  • Dorit Olenik-Shemesh
  • Tali Heiman
  • Eva Dobozy
  • Mel Tan
  • Tereza Trencheva
  • Maria Vasquez
  • Robert McLaughlin
  • Gordon Freedman
  • Joyce Malyn-Smith
  • Devashish Dutta
  • Hyunjeong Lee