Skip to content
Curtin University
Curtin Learning Institute

Australian Awards for University Teaching (AAUT)

Award Types 2018

Universities Australia (UA) now run the Australian Awards for University Teaching (AAUT). Swinburne University (led by Professor Angela Carbone) is managing the administration of the AAUT on behalf of Universities Australia.

This year, all award categories will remain unchanged along with the assessment criteria.

Award Types  Categories  No. of Awards 
Citations for Outstanding Contributions to Student Learning (Citations)  4 Up to 60 
Awards for Programs that Enhance Learning (Program Awards)  6
Awards for Teaching Excellence (Teaching Awards)  7
Award for Australian University Teacher of the Year  1 1 

Please see award type details here (PDF, 82.5 KB).

Further information outlining the submission process will be provided to us by Universities Australia in October 2018.

Nomination for these awards is by invitation of the Curtin Excellence and Innovation in Teaching Awards committee. Nominees must have been recognised internally, for example by winning a Curtin Excellence and Innovation in Teaching Award.

Due to the level of funding made available by Government for the AAUT from 2018 onwards, prizemoney has been reduced.
Key changes to the 2018 Awards are as follows:

  • Awards for Teaching Excellence and the Award for Australian University Teacher of the Year will attract prizemoney, though amounts will be reduced. Details on prizemoney for these awards will be provided later.
  • The state-based Citations ceremonies will no longer take place. Recipients of Citations and Program Awards will receive a certificate. Ceremonies or other forms of public recognition will be at the discretion of the recipients’ institution.
  • Award recipients for Excellence in University Teaching and the Australian University Teacher of the Year Award will be announced at the Universities Australia Higher Education Conference, National Convention Centre Canberra on Wednesday 27 February to Friday 1 March 2019.

  • Submission of nominations will be due by Monday 10 December 2018. We will inform you of the date prior to this when you should submit the final version of your application to Curtin Learning and Teaching for review. There will be a new online submission process (to be announced by Universities Australia.)

    Further information on the 2018 Australian Awards for University Teaching (AAUT) and assistance with the preparation of the requisite documentation is available from your Faculty Teaching and Learning Committee or email the Curtin Learning and Teaching, Applicants should also refer to the Tips for Completing Teaching Award Applications